Assault & Battery Charges in Florida
Orlando Violent Crime Lawyers
As an Orlando
criminal defense attorneys, Longwell Lawyers is committed to providing exceptional legal counsel
for individuals in need of representation. With more than two decades
of experience under our belts, we understand how to handle a wide range
of charges and effectively navigate the legal system.
Whether you are facing aggravated assault charges or a misdemeanor battery
charge, it is important to speak with an Orlando
violent crime attorney who understands your situation. When you work with us, you can rest assured
that our legal team will put your interests first, making it a priority
to secure the best results possible.
Defining Assault Charges
Assault can be charged as either a misdemeanor or felony. That means that
no matter how minor your charges may seem, it is crucial that you take
quick action to defend your rights against the opposing prosecution.
To be convicted of an assault crime, the prosecution must prove:
- You intentionally and unlawfully threatened (by word or action) to do violence
against another person.
- At the time of the crime, you appeared to have the full ability to carry
out that threat.
- You created a well-founded fear that violence was about to take place in
the mind of the victim
- If aggravated assault, they must also prove that the assault was made with
a deadly weapon and was made by a full-formed, conscious intent to commit
A deadly weapon can be anything from a gun to a hammer or baseball bat.
If charged with a misdemeanor offense, you could face 60 days in jail,
6 months of probation and up to $500 in fines. A felony will result in
up to 5 years in prison and probation and up to $5,000 in fines.
Battery Charges in Florida
Similar to assault, battery can be charged as a felony or a misdemeanor,
depending on the severity and circumstances of the crime. A person may
be accused of battery if they intentionally touch, strike or cause bodily
harm to another person against their will. This could include pushing,
grabbing, or even spitting on another person. If the battery causes great
bodily harm or an individual has a prior conviction they may be charged
with a felony offense. If a person knowingly causes great bodily harm,
or involves the use of a deadly weapon (or the victim is known to be pregnant),
it could be charged as aggravated battery.
A first degree misdemeanor battery will typically result in up to 1 year
in jail and probation and up to $1,000 in fines. A felony battery may
result in up to 5 years in prison and probation as well as a $5,000 fine.
Lastly, aggravated battery can bring up to 15 years in prison and probation
and up to $10,000 in fines.
If you or a loved one has been charged with assault, battery or any other
type of violent crime, please
contact our firm right away. Our Orlando violent crime attorneys are here to aggressively
defend your legal rights!